Gold and platinum wedding rings

One day, out of curiosity, Ben and Surzhanna pushed open the door of my workshop because they had a very specific idea in mind for their wedding rings. They wanted two particular lines to be clearly visible. The first being the outline of their profiles. They drew each other and wanted to immortalise these curves as engravings on the surfaces of the rings. The second line was a sonogram. Ben and Surzhanna recorded themselves singing a Russian song they both loved very much. The sound of their voices was then translated into an electromagnetic signal, also engraved upon the rings.

 

For their idea to take shape, I had to create contrast. The sonogram line was engraved on the outside of the wedding ring, cut from smooth platinum which overlapped hammered gold. The same principle applied to the inside of the ring. The profile’s curve was made out of platinum and is clearly visible thanks to the silver-gold contrast. This is how their atypical idea was translated into jewellery.

 

These wedding rings were among my last creations in Beijing. This city is very cosmopolitan and the history of Ben and Surzhanna is a perfect example of this multiculturalism. Surzhanna is Russian and used to work for the German fashion designer Kathrin Von Rechenberg. Benjamin is French and specialised in urban agriculture. By word of mouth within the expatriate community, Ben and Surzhanna heard about me and came to my workshop. Their wedding rings also symbolise the meeting of two cultures, the reunion of two souls that managed to find each other in a big world! 

 

Platinum and tsavorite garnet ring

A person came into my workshop one day and asked me to design a ring for her. Sometimes, when I want to inspire a client, I usually look at the way they are dressed, their body language, the way they talk and behave. I show them pictures of jewellery I have already made too. This usually really helps people to have a better idea of the final piece. I showed this client a tsavorite garnet and she liked it very much. I took a pencil and a piece of paper to quickly sketch the shape of the ring. As she seemed to like this drawing, I put it into perspective and quickly framed the garnet with a copper wire so that she could have a better idea of the dimensions. Then I made a model and after my client was satisfied with it I set about making the jewellery. With this ring, I wanted to highlight the idea of opposing forces, a bit like the relationship between the forces of Yin and Yang.

Silver bracelet

I made this bracelet for Doris, a Chinese-American woman. Before she left Beijing to return to the United States, she wanted me to make a piece of jewellery for her in memory of our friendship. At that time, I was a professor at the Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA). I was teaching Chinese students how to find a theme, how to create a model from that theme, and from there, how to start creating jewellery. Doris had been admitted to my jewellery class shortly after she and her husband arrived in China. Our common interest in the same field and the fact that she was also  an expatriate made us become good friends. 
 

At that time, I was experimenting with shapes. I used to make sculptural jewellery that looked like birds' feet. Doris liked my work and that's why she asked me for an original creation. Knowing that she had a bit of a fighter’s personality — she enjoyed practicing boxing in her free time — and wanted a large piece of handmade jewellery on her arm without it being too heavy, I came up with the idea of this silver bracelet. I wanted to enhance both the industrial and organic aspect of it with curved square wires. Since the joints are soldered, this creative process was very close to that of calligraphy painting. I had to be focused and in the right rhythm to know where and when to weld the different wires together. If somebody asked me to make the exact same bracelet today, chances are I could not make an identical one.

 
 

Diamond and platinum ring

Dominique's husband had offered her a diamond, and after he passed away, Dominique wanted to turn this diamond into a piece of jewellery as a tribute to her husband. I made several drawings and models for Dominique before we came to this final result. Additional diamonds have been added to the ring and the whole structure is in platinum.

 

Brooch-pendant : Nick's flowers

Nicolas is British and organises trips to North Korea. Back in Beijing, his office was right behind my shop. Nick’s partner is an Italian journalist, the type of woman who’s always running around being super busy. As she is also a fervent feminist, Nicolas knew that a traditional proposal with a ring would have been the worst idea to ask for her hand. Instead, Nicolas asked me to create a gold, silver and diamond brooch-pendant. He wanted me to reproduce the flowers he draws himself when he leaves a paper note to his lady love.

 

Leather and silver bracelet

Antoine entered my shop by chance, just because he was passing by. He was all the more curious because his parents were jewellers too and his brother followed the same path. Antoine knew the world of jewellery very well but he decided to answer the call of the sea. Despite this he still likes handmade creations and is appreciative of beautiful objects. Antoine owns an old rig and the silver triangle of the bracelet represents the sail of his boat caught by the wind. The style of this bracelet is modern and composed of straight lines only.

 

Gold and opal ring

Jewellers are always afraid to work with opals for they are very beautiful but particularly fragile stones. This superb opal is now well protected! The idea was to achieve a balance of colours between all the different gems: diamonds, rubies and opal mounted on a golden ring. The curvy lines are meant to give the sensation of free movement, of something very natural. To create this ring, I proceeded as I always do. I started with a piece of material that I already had at hand, I played with it and observed what happened.

 

Platinum and pure gold wedding ring

Peng is an architect, he came to me with the idea of an inverted pyramid and we brainstormed together to work out how the project would work. The architectural rules he had in mind couldn’t in fact really be applied to jewellery. In the end, we agreed on two wedding rings that could be clipped together. The element in the centre is Gwen's ring, with the inverted pyramid on top that contains pure gold. Peng's ring is on the outside. Both rings are made of platinum.

 

Gold ring with 13 opals

When Cecile came into my shop, she handed me a small bag that contained 13 opals and said: "My grandfather brought these opals from Australia as a gift for my grandmother. I would like to do something with them, do you think it’s possible?" We had two options; either a complete set with earrings, pendant, necklace and bracelet or alternatively a relatively large ring. It was the second idea that Cécile chose. I made a model where I placed all the stones in wax so that we could better appreciate the volume and the weight. This ring is in gold, so it’s relatively heavy but yet easy to wear. When I showed the model to Cécile she loved the result. The right balance was found, despite the large number of stones, they all blend in well with the surrounding metal.

 

Wedding rings

Platinum, fingerprint engravings and geometric patterns for the groom. Arabesque patterns and fingerprint engravings too for the bride. I made these wedding rings on the theme of complementarity. There is a mirror effect since some of the patterns on the groom’s ring can be found on the bride’s one, and vice versa.

 

Gold leaf fibula

Kathrin Von Rechenberg is a German fashion designer specialising in silk outfits. Sarah, her employee, was thinking of having a fibula on a dress about to be displayed for a fashion show. When she came to see me, Sarah already had a very clear idea in mind about the type of fibula she wanted. My job was to find the right materials. The gold leaf in the centre made the accessory stand out during the show, (a last minute change as I had to transform the fibula... into a necklace!) In the end, the accessory matched really well with the outfit since it was visible without being too prominent. Jewels for fashion shows are of a different standard. Given that the viewer is relatively far away from the model, the jewel can’t be too small. On the other hand, it can't be too big either, as to avoid making the  garment stand out.

 

Wedding anniversary ring

This ring was a gift for a 40th wedding anniversary. The gems in the middle were emerald surrounded by aquamarines, oyster pearls and diamonds. The white pearl was relatively large and ovale-shaped. Because oyster pearls are a little fragile, mouting them on a ring was something rather unusual.

 

Crumpled gold bracelet

During my apprenticeship, my teacher was asked to copy a crumpled brass bracelet. He dismantled it to understand its structure and to make an identical version of it in gold. I had only been an apprentice for six months by then but that piece of jewellery stuck in my mind. A few years later, I decided to make a copy too but the final result was nothing like the original. That’s when I realised that memory and personality create filters. We think we can reproduce certain things while our perception prevents us from taking a neutral look at them in the first place. The first version I made of this bracelet was in silver. I was offered the opportunity to put it on display in a concept restaurant in Beijing (the Green Tea House). It turned out to be a good idea since I received several orders afterwards. One of the customers asked for a version in gold, it’s the one you see in this photo. This bracelet is made of a hand-crumpled metal sheet only.

Gold and coral brooch

This brooch was made using a technique that only a few jewellers know nowadays, called embossing. I started developing this technique in Vietnam and later on in China as well. In the Chinese province of Yunnan, in Xinhua Cun, the whole village used the embossing technique to create artefacts. It is not only an Asian technique, you can also find it in Africa, in America and in Europe. On our continent though, embossing became rarer after the 18th century. The process consists of creating shapes and volumes out of a metal sheet that is half a millimetre thick. The sheet is heated and then sculpted with a chisel, a tool designed to sculpt the metal and create impressions on the soft surface. Once the metal hardens, it becomes difficult to change its shape even when it is heated again. Therefore, more strength is required and this is where the difficulty of the technique lies.

As to how I got the idea for this brooch, I owe it to one of my clients in Beijing. I was selling my products in several markets and used to make a lot of jewellery out of iron and moonstones back then. One of my customers obviously liked them very much and tried to find me afterwards, without much success. Until one day she randomly stumbled upon my workshop. She came back two or three days after that with a piece of coral and gave me carte blanche for a creation. After several sketches and models, we agreed on this brooch. This piece of coral reminded me of locks of hair or head ornaments. In fact, the word jewellery in Chinese (shoushi) literally means head ornament. That’s where I took my inspiration from, then the work did the rest.

 
 

Earrings in white gold, yellow gold, diamonds and South Sea pearls

I designed the shape of these earrings so that the pearls in the centre were not fixed to the main structure. When Winnie saw them in my booth the first time, her eyes sparkled. She tried them on a few times but, in the end, she didn't buy them and walked away. The same thing happened a little later on three occasions. One day, I randomly came across Winnie and her husband on a street. After we started talking Winnie's phone rang and she got caught in a conversation. Since we were in early December, I discreetly slipped to her husband: "By the way, I know what gift Winnie would like for Christmas" ; )

 

Gold, silver and titanium fountain pen

For this piece I used an already-made nib and ink system as a base, but reshaped the pen’s body. Jewellery techniques can also be applied on everyday objects to adorn them.

 

Emerald, diamond and platinum art deco ring

Here is a classic piece of jewellery that I will never tire of. This art deco ring really allows its stone to stand out in a pure and simple way. Here, the traditional shape is respected. I simply added a little personal touch in the dynamics of the lines.

 

You and me ring in gold and diamonds

Here is a you and me ring made out of several other jewels. A client came to me with a mix of a mismatched earring, a gold ring, a wedding ring with diamonds and other broken pieces of jewellery. She wanted to know if it was possible to "recycle" all these valuable pieces into a brand new creation. The main difficulty of the work was the arrangement of stones of different sizes in a harmonious pattern. In the end, with a bit of imagination, sketches and models, the result came through.

 

Mother of Pearl, Opal and Titanium Necklace

I went to Shanghai to visit a friend on holiday and he gave me a piece of mother-of-pearl. This bluish polished shell is unique to New Zealand and comes from the abalone that live on the coasts. To make a necklace out of it, I thought it would be interesting to work with different shades of colour. Using a titanium wire, I assembled the mother-of-pearl together with an opal bead. After that, I heated the titanium to change its colour. This oxidation process creates iridescent shades that match with the two other elements of the necklace.

 

Mixes

This is an aesthetic construction combining gold, silver, wood, titanium, amber and ruby with some diamonds and yellow sapphires. I started with a silver base called the socket, then built the ring around it by placing the different materials together one after the other.

 

Silver bracelet with titanium button

This piece is designed for men. The clasp consists of an elastic band fixed around the titanium button. This piece of jewellery is the second version of a bracelet used as a basis for future creations. Usually, the combination of customers’ requests and the mastery of certain techniques tend to trigger my inspiration. The creative process is empirical. There is what we learn at the beginning and what we learn on the way.

Alliance en or et platine

Un jour, plus par curiosité qu’autre chose, Ben et Surzhanna poussent la porte de mon atelier avec une idée d’alliance très précise et qui ne manquait pas d’originalité ! C’est le moins qu’on puisse dire. Ils voulaient que deux lignes apparaissent sur leurs alliances. La première était celle de leurs profils. Ils s’étaient dessinés l’un l’autre et voulaient immortaliser ces courbes. La deuxième ligne était celle d'un sonagramme. Ben et Surzhanna s’étaient enregistrés en train de chanter une chanson russe qui leur tenait à cœur. Le son de leurs voix avait ensuite été traduit en un signal électromagnétique.

Pour que leur idée puisse se concrétiser, il fallait jouer sur les contrastes. La ligne du sonagramme est à l'extérieur de l'alliance, taillée dans un platine lisse, qui vient se superposer à de l'or martelé. Même principe à l'intérieur de l'anneau. La courbe des profils est en platine et bien visible grâce au contraste avec la couleur dorée. C'est ainsi que leur idée atypique a finalement pu se traduire en bijou.

Ces alliances ont été une de mes dernières créations à Pékin. Elles illustrent en partie à quoi ressemblait la vie dans cette ville incroyablement cosmopolite. Surzhanna est Russe et travaillait chez la styliste Kathrin Von Rechenberg. Benjamin est Français, spécialisé en agriculture urbaine. La communauté expatriée n'étant pas si grande que ça, c'est grâce au bouche à oreille que Ben et Surzhanna sont venus me voir. Leurs alliances sont aussi la rencontre de deux cultures, de deux âmes qui ont réussi à se retrouver dans ce vaste monde !

 

Bague de platine et grenat tsavorite

Une personne est venue me voir et m'a demandé de créer une bague pour elle. Quand on me laisse carte blanche, généralement je regarde la façon dont la personne est habillée, sa gestuelle, sa façon de parler et de se comporter. Je montre aussi des photos de bijoux que j'ai déjà réalisés. Ça aide vraiment mon interlocuteur à mieux visualiser le modèle de bague que j'imagine pour lui ou elle. J'ai présenté à cette cliente un grenat tsavorite qui lui a beaucoup plu. Ensuite, toujours en présence de cette personne, j'ai pris un papier, un crayon et j'ai rapidement esquissé la forme de la bague. Comme mon dessin semblait lui convenir, pour qu'elle se rende mieux compte des volumes, j'ai mis ce dessin en perspective. J'ai pris un morceau de cuivre que j'ai sculpté rapidement autour du grenat. J'ai ensuite fait une maquette et une fois que ma cliente a été satisfaite de tous les ajustements, je me suis attelé à la réalisation du bijou. Avec cette bague, j'ai voulu mettre en avant l'idée des forces en opposition, un peu à la façon du ying et du yang.

Bracelet en argent

J'ai fait ce bracelet pour Doris, une Américaine d'origine chinoise. Avant qu'elle ne quitte Pékin pour retourner aux États-Unis, elle a voulu que je lui crée un bijou en souvenir de notre amitié. À cette époque, j'étais professeur à l'Institut des Beaux-Arts de Pékin. J'enseignais à des étudiants chinois comment trouver un thème, comment créer une maquette à partir de ce thème puis comment passer à la réalisation. Doris avait été admise dans mon cours de bijouterie peu après qu'elle et son mari étaient arrivés en Chine. Notre intérêt commun pour la bijouterie, la joaillerie et le fait qu'elle était aussi expatriée nous avait rapproché.  

À cette époque, je faisais pas mal d'expérimentations. Je réalisais des bijoux-sculpture qui ressemblaient à des pattes d'oiseaux. Mes travaux ont plu à Doris et c'est la raison pour laquelle elle m'a demandé une création originale. Sachant qu'elle aimait la boxe et qu'elle voulait un volume imposant sur le bras, sans que soit trop lourd, j'ai eu l'idée de ce bracelet en argent. J'ai voulu développer le côté organique avec un fil carré. Les articulations sont fondues, raison pour laquelle ce bijou fonctionne un peu comme une calligraphie. Je devais être présent, être dans le bon rythme pour savoir quand fondre et à quelle distance placer les morceaux. Si on me demandait de faire le même bracelet aujourd'hui, je ne serais pas capable d'en reproduire un identique.

 
 

Bague de diamants et platine

Le mari de Dominique lui avait offert un diamant en pierre nue, c'est-à-dire non monté sur anneau. Après que ce dernier a quitté ce monde, en hommage à son époux, Dominique a voulu faire de ce diamant un bijou.  Après plusieurs dessins et maquettes nous sommes parvenus à ce résultat final. La bague est complétée par des diamants supplémentaires et toute la structure est en platine.

 

Broche-pendentif : Les fleurs de Nicolas

Nicolas est Anglais et organise des voyages en Corée du Nord. Le hasard a voulu que son bureau était juste derrière mon atelier. Sa compagne est Italienne, journaliste, le type de femme qui vit à 300 à l'heure. Comme Madame est aussi féministe, pour lui demander sa main, Nicolas s'est dit qu'il aurait plus de chance avec une non-demande en mariage. Les alliances étant exclues, Nicolas m'a demandé de créer une broche-pendentif en or, argent et diamants. Il voulait que je reproduise les fleurs qu'il dessine lui-même quand il laisse un message sur papier à sa dulcinée.

 

Bracelet en cuir et argent

Antoine est entré dans mon atelier par hasard, parce qu'il passait devant. Il a d'autant plus été piqué par la curiosité que ses parents étaient aussi bijoutiers et que son frère a suivi la même vocation. Antoine, lui, a répondu à l'appel du large. Néanmoins, il connait bien le monde de la bijouterie et de la joaillerie. Il aime le fait-main et est sensible aux beaux objets. Il possède un vieux gréement et le triangle en argent représente le foc de son bateau bombé par le vent. Le style est moderne, uniquement composé de lignes droites.

 

Bague en or et opale

Les joailliers ont toujours peur de travailler avec les opales. Des pierres très belles mais ô combien fragiles. Cette superbe opale est désormais bien protégée ! Pour cette bague, l'idée était d'opérer un équilibre des couleurs avec l'or, les diamants, les rubis et l'opale. J'ai voulu donner un côté naturel à cette création avec des courbes qui donnent la sensation de mouvement. J'ai procédé comme je fais toujours. Je commence avec un bout de matière que j'ai déjà sous la main, je joue avec et je vois ce qui se passe.

 

Alliance en platine et or pur

Peng est architecte, il est venu me voir avec une idée de pyramide inversée puis nous avons réfléchi ensemble à la meilleure façon de réaliser son projet. Finalement nous avons opté pour l'idée des alliances qui se clippent l'une dans l'autre. L'élément au centre est la bague de Gwen, avec cette fameuse pyramide inversée qui contient de l'or pur. L'alliance de Peng est à l'extérieur et les deux anneaux sont en platine.

 

Bague en or à 13 opales

Cécile est arrivée en me donnant un petit sachet qui renfermait des pierres. Dans ce pli il y avait 13 opales. Elle m'a dit : « Mon mon grand-père a ramené ces opales d'Australie pour les offrir à ma grand-mère. J'aimerais en faire quelque chose, est-ce que vous pensez que c'est possible ? » Nous avions deux options. Soit on se lançait dans une parure complète avec boucles d'oreilles, pendentif, collier et bracelet. Soit on partait sur l'idée d'une très grosse bague. C'est la deuxième idée que Cécile a retenue. J'ai fait une maquette où j'ai placé toutes les pierres dans de la cire pour qu'on puisse mieux se rendre compte des volumes et du poids. Cette bague est tout en or, donc assez lourde mais facile à porter. J'ai présenté la maquette à Cécile et elle a adoré le résultat. Le bon équilibre a été trouvé car il y a beaucoup de pierres, mais elles se fondent dans le métal qui est également très présent.

 

Alliances

Du platine, des empreintes digitales et des motifs géométriques pour Monsieur. Des motifs en arabesque et des empruntes digitales également pour Madame. Pour ces alliances, le thème de la complémentarité a été développé par effet miroir. Une partie des motifs de l'alliance masculine se retrouve mêlée aux motifs de l'alliance féminine et vice-versa.

 

Fibule à feuille d'or

Kathrin Von Rechenberg est une styliste allemande spécialisée dans les tenues en soie. Sarah, son employée, cherchait des idées de fibule pour une de leurs robes qui allait être présentée en défilé. Quand elle est venue me voir, Sarah avait déjà une idée très précise de la forme de la fibule. Mon travail consistait surtout à rechercher les matières adéquates. La feuille d'or au centre a permis de bien faire ressortir cet accessoire pendant le défilé. Avec un changement de dernière minute puisque j'ai dû transformer la fibule... en collier ! Finalement l'accessoire s'intégrait bien à la tenue car il était visible sans être trop présent. Il y a une dimension particulière avec le bijou de défilé qu'il n'y a pas avec les bijoux portés au quotidien. Comme le spectateur est assez éloigné du mannequin, je ne peux pas faire un bijou trop petit. À l'inverse, je ne peux pas non plus créer un accessoire trop massif qui empêcherait de mettre en avant le vêtement.

 

Bague pour noces d'émeraudes

Quoi de mieux qu'une bague majestueuse et originale pour célébrer 40 années de mariage ? Ces belles émeraudes sont petites, mais sont l'élément central qui met en valeur les autres éléments autour d'elles. Les pierres bleues sont des aigues marines. La perle de nacre blanche est assez imposante et de forme ovale. C'est une construction inhabituelle pour une bague, dans le sens où les perles, assez fragiles tout de même, ne se montent généralement pas sur anneau. Cette bague est en adéquation avec le style de vie de sa porteuse. Avant de créer un bijou, je demande souvent à quelles occasions il sera porté. Est-ce une bague destinée à la vie de tous les jours ? Ou sera-t-elle portée uniquement lors de festivités ?

 

Bracelet en or froissé

Pendant mon CAP, on avait demandé à mon maitre d'apprentissage de refaire un bracelet en laiton froissé. Il avait démonté le bijou pour comprendre sa structure et pour en reproduire une version identique, mais cette fois-ci, en or. Ça devait faire six mois que j'étais en apprentissage et ce bijou m'est resté en tête. Quelques années plus tard, j'ai voulu le reproduire et le résultat final n'a rien eu à voir avec l'original ! À ce moment-là j'ai réalisé que la mémoire et la personnalité créent des filtres. On pense que l'on peut imiter certaines choses alors que notre perception les a déjà interprétées et nous empêche de les voir de façon neutre. J'ai créé une première version de ce bracelet en argent que j'avais exposée dans un restaurant concept à Pékin (le Green Tea House). Visiblement ce bracelet a plu car par la suite j'en ai fait beaucoup. À la demande d'une cliente, j'ai réalisé une version en or que l'on voit sur cette photo. Ce bracelet est uniquement constitué d'une feuille de métal froissée à la main.

Broche en or et corail

Cette broche a été réalisée via une technique que peu de joailliers connaissent : le repoussé. J'ai commencé à utiliser cette technique au Vietnam puis j'ai continué en Chine. Dans la province chinoise du Yunnan, à Xinhua Cun, tout le village faisait du ciselage repoussé. Ce n'est pas qu'une technique asiatique, elle est présente également en Afrique, en Amérique mais aussi en Europe, même si sa pratique s'est raréfiée chez nous après le XVIIIe siècle. Le principe consiste à mettre en volume une feuille de métal d'un demi-millimètre d'épaisseur. La feuille est chauffée pour être travaillée au ciselet, un outil qui sert à pousser le métal. Quand le métal s'écrouit, c'est-à-dire qu'il se durcit, il devient difficile de modifier sa forme même quand on le chauffe à nouveau. Il faut donc user de bien plus de force, c'est là que réside la difficulté de la technique.

Quant à savoir comment m'est venue l'idée de cette broche, je la dois à une de mes clientes à Pékin. À cette époque je vendais mes pièces sur des marchés. Je réalisais pas mal de bijoux en fer et pierres de lune. Certaines de ces pièces avaient visiblement beaucoup plu à une cliente qui avait essayé de me retrouver par la suite, sans grand succès. Jusqu'au jour où elle tomba par hasard sur ma boutique. Non contente de sa découverte, elle est revenue rapidement avec un bout de corail et m'a donné carte blanche pour une création. Après dessin et maquette, nous nous sommes accordés sur cette broche. Le morceau de corail me faisait penser à une chevelure ou un ornement de tête. D'ailleurs, le mot bijou en chinois se dit shoushi, et signifie littéralement ornement de tête. L'inspiration est venue de là puis le travail a fait le reste.

 
 

Boucles d'oreille en or blanc, or jaune, diamants et perles des mers du sud

J'ai imaginé la forme de ces boucles d'oreilles de façon à ce que les perles au centre soient mobiles, non fixées au support. Je les avais exposées sur mon stand à l'occasion d'un marché et Winnie avait flashé dessus. Elle les avait essayées plusieurs fois mais, en proie à l'indécision, n'en avait finalement pas fait l'acquisition. Même scenario un peu plus tard et à trois reprises. Un jour au hasard des rues, je croisais Winnie et son mari. Nous avions commencé à discuter puis le téléphone de Winnie s'est mis à sonner. Alors qu'elle était happée par sa conversation, comme les fêtes de fin d'année approchaient, j'ai glissé à son mari : "Au fait, je sais ce que veut ton épouse veut pour Noël" ; )

 

Stylo plume or, argent et titane

Le "moteur" est d'origine : plume et système d'encre, mais j'ai travaillé l'enveloppe pour donner à ce stylo une touche d'originalité. Les techniques de bijouterie et joaillerie peuvent aussi s'appliquer à des objets du quotidien pour les sublimer et en faire des pièces uniques.

 

Bague art déco émeraude, diamants et platine

Voilà un classique dont je ne me lasserai jamais. Épurée, simple, la bague art déco permet vraiment de mettre la pierre en valeur. Ici, la forme traditionnelle est respectée, j'ai simplement ajouté un peu de ma touche personnelle dans la dynamique des lignes.

 

Bague toi et moi en or et diamants

Voici un toi et moi revisité à partir de plusieurs bijoux existants. Une cliente est venue me trouver avec une boucle d'oreille dépareillée, une bague en or, une alliance avec des diamants et d'autres bijoux cassés. Elle voulait savoir s'il était possible de "recycler" tous ces bijoux de valeur en un seul. La principale difficulté consistait à assembler de façon harmonieuse des pierres qui n'avaient pas du tout les mêmes dimensions. Mais avec un peu d'idée, quelques croquis et des maquettes, le résultat est au rendez-vous.

 

Collier en nacre, opale et titane

J'étais en visite à Shanghai et un ami Néo-zélandais m'a donné un morceau de nacre. Cette nacre bleutée est unique à la Nouvelle-Zélande, on la doit aux ormeaux qui vivent sur ces côtes. Partant sur le thème des nuances de couleurs, j'ai relié par un fil en titane la nacre et une perle d'opale. Sous l'effet de la chaleur, le titane s'oxyde et c'est ce qui lui donne ces couleurs chatoyantes. Grâce à ce procédé on parvient à une harmonie entre ces trois matières.

 

Mélanges

Il s'agit ici d'une construction esthétique alliant or, argent, bois, titane, ambre et rubis avec quelques diamants et saphirs jaunes. Je suis parti d'une base en argent appelée la douille, puis j'ai construit la bague autour en posant les différentes matières.

 

Bracelet en argent avec bouton en titane

Bijou pour homme où le fermoir consiste en un élastique qui vient se fixer autour du bouton en titane. Cette création est la deuxième version d'un bracelet qui avait servi de base à de futures pièces. En général, ce sont les demandes de mes clients et la maîtrise de certains gestes qui me permettent d'innover. Le procédé créatif est empirique. Il y a ce qu'on apprend en début de formation et ce qu'on apprend sur le chemin.